Tofucky

I just realized I was supposed to allow the damn Tofurky to thaw for 24 hours before cooking.

The entire box is plastered with warnings to KEEP FROZEN, so I wrongly assumed that meant until you pop it in the oven.

The first time I cooked a turkey for Thanksgiving, back in oh, 1989 or 1990, I made the same mistake.

Little giblets of history repeating itself here. At least we have plenty of pie.

ETA: It turned out pretty well in the end. Picture of my dinner here, if you’re curious.

6 responses to “Tofucky

  1. I don’t think I ever want to eat a Tofurky. The name makes me want to ralph.

    But pie is always good. And veggies. One year when I was living on my own in high school, a group of us made a potato turkey. It was yummy.

  2. It actually smelled a lot like roasted turkey when I unwrapped it. And there are all kinds of ways to prepare it, even oddly enough, deep fried Tofurky. lol

    http://www.tofurky.com/recipes/tofurky_deepfried.htm

    I primarily bought one out of curiosity, to support it as an alternative option, and because they’re tiny.I have always preferred the sides. It’sust the three of us, and I have a cold so was not up for driving to my sister’s house.

    Crisis averted. You just have to cook a frozen Tofurky a little longer. Phew! I decided to experiment with some sesame oil, a splash of soy sauce,gomasio and garlic cloves as the basting liquid. I stuck a few baby carrots, and extra garlic in there as well.

    I’m also roasting a hubbard squash–LOVE–and we have cranberry relish, pumpkin and apple pies, salad, green beans, wild rice and mushroom stuffing, mushroom gravy and these cute little apple-cranberry dumplings that came with the Tofurky. Plus I think I’ll toast some pecans to have with the pie. (vegan pumpkin–thank you, Whole Foods!, and a diabetic apple pie for James. His company was selling pies to benefit charity.

  3. Wow, your dinner sounds pretty great…kindof makes me want to unleash a Tofurkey on my family. But I have magically been excluded from the Thanksgiving potluck list–probably because they fear that I would unleash a Tofurkey on them.

    Have a great Thanksgiving!

  4. Looks yummy. But my family would be pissed if I pulled such a thing. Seriously. It’s not thanksgiving dinner with turkey, stuffing, and mashed potatoes. The only acceptable vegetable is green bean casserole. Blah.

  5. I got out of having to cook this year (my husband did it all as I don’t like ‘pressure’ cooking for groups). My old roommate always had those ‘tofurkeys’ and I liked them 🙂

    Oh, did you happen to hear the post punk kitchen on The Splendid Table last week? I knew I had heard of them someone and then remembered the link on your blog!

    http://splendidtable.publicradio.org/listings/#17

Leave a Reply

