Park It

Lest the post below sound as if we’re spending all of our down time having playdates at Donald’s house,here is a picture of Max enjoying the facilities earlier in the trip at Panther Creek State Park in Tennessee on an unseasonably warm day. In addition to immaculate, heated restrooms Panther Creek even had a merry-go-round.

One caveat about visiting parks with playgrounds: do not announce that you are going to be at a playground in a few minutes after passing an exit with a teeter-totter symbol tattooed on the state park sign. Why? Because the next park we tried to visit after Panther Creek was 213 miles off the highway. We only found out after driving a few miles and finding a more detailed sign.

Grunty and I decided that major highway rest stops should all have a simple play area. Most of them have an area to walk dogs, so doesn’t a swing set or slide sound like a welcome addition? Alternatively, an enterprising person could launch a franchise of indoor-outdoor playspaces near those odd pseudo highway exit villages that exist solely to hawk fudge, genuine souvenirs and t-shirts 3 for $12.99.

Here’s hoping for nice weather in Arizona and lots of well-maintained parks and playgrounds.

3 responses to “Park It

  1. It looks like so far you, Max and Mom are having a good time! I am bookmarking this page so I can keep checking where you are and what you’ve been up to on your adventure! Let me know when you are heading back up, and if you are still planning to stop here. We miss you all! Love you!
    Steph

  2. OMG. I tried emailing you—-I have been so worried young lady…I am so glad you are back. Please email, phone or smoke signal me and give me and update. And please don’t go away again girl. My world is a better place with you in it! Really.

  3. I have thought the same thing about playgrounds at rest areas since I was a kid. If I would have been one of those kids who does amazing things, I could have gotten the legislation going, my kids could have reaped the benefits!!! Darn.

Leave a Reply

