Got tents?

Discuss.

I’m trying to decide if I should invest in a top of the line 3 season tent or look for a small pop-up or Class B for our next trip, which will hopefully be the northern jaunt into Newfoundland, Labrador and then who-knows-where that I had initially planned for our recently ended travels. I am leaning towards a tent, because well, we’re sort of broke at the moment, I think I might be able to earn enough on my own to fund a camping trip, and hotels for all of their conveniences can be pretty boring.

5 responses to “Got tents?

  1. We’ll be camping for most of our yellowstone trip except a stop in Chicago and Salt Lake.

    We are planning to bring a pop up and a 3 season tent for the longer stays. I think the 3 season is good for 2-3+ day stays in one place and the pop up is good for overnight stays. BTW craigslist is a great place to find tents…

  2. woot! You’re coming up here next! At least you have a place to stay when you hit Moncton!

    I haven’t camped in ages-no desire to. But if you’re travelling up here in summer, totally the best thing to do.

  3. I totally wish you could test-drive a tent, like a car or even a hotel room. If you hate it, you could just take it back the next day, throw it up on the counter and ask for a different model.

    I’ve spent way too much time in tents and can offer my unsolicited opinions:

    1. Bigger is better unless you are going to do serious packing and hiking,

    2. Anything less than a 3-season tends to be a waste of money as they attract moisture/humidity like socks collect lint,

    3. Those ultra-light, super compact, 1-pound tents? Stay AWAY!

    4. The BEST tent I ever stayed in was a 3-season, 2-person, ultra light called a Walrus. I couldn’t get my boss in the Forest Service to sell it to me, not even for a hundred bucks cash.

    5. I’d try REI just because they have a fairly good return/exchange policy. Try a couple out and if you hate them, take them back.

  4. Karrie, I thought I had lost you. Your blog disappeared a while back, and I mourned for it. I’m glad to see that you’re back.

    I’m linking to you from my blog today
    http://www.tryonebite.com

  5. We bought a 1991 Westfalia Vanagon on Craigslist a few years ago. Probably not what you are in the market for, but it was pretty cheap, drives great and we have a room where ever we go. It sleeps all five of us (even though we still have a tent to throw the car seats in to make room for the lower bunk.) I’m upgrading our tent this summer as soon as Costco sells that circus size monstrosity this year. I agree with bigger is better, especially since we added a dog to the mix.

Leave a Reply

