A Rambling Update

Sorry to be such an absent blogger and silent reader. I’ve been busy wrapping up the semester and all of my spare time and energy has been directed towards the garden. There are rather elaborate plans for the front and side yards, and the roof, as well as raising seedlings in every available sunlit spot in my kitchen and dining room. The soil in my existing buckets and yard has mostly thawed so I was able to plant a few early blooming flowers last week.

You know you’re a (crazy) mother when thinning seedlings makes you teary-eyed. I yanked a bunch of carefully nurtured cilantro and tomato infants and sent them to compost over the weekend. I felt so dirty afterwards.

Oh, and when I’m not obsessing over plants, I’ve been trying to get the accounting books for the comic book store up to date, and working on amending a couple of personal returns from previous years. I am decidedly not a numbers person, so morning meetings with our accountant have the effect of rendering me spent and useless for the remainder of the day. I think I am slowly getting the hang of things though.

Hope you’re all well! I’ll try and catch up on reading soon, and will write again once I take the new tent out for a spin or to share pictures of the gardens in progress.

5 responses to “A Rambling Update

  1. I agree that thinning seedlings is hard! And I’m not even the gardener in our family. But those little plants worked so hard to grow, I think. I am not really very down with the whole cycle of life.

    It’s nice to hear from you!

  2. Yeah, it just feels so….random deciding which plants to off.

  3. I am excited to see pictures of your seedlings whenever you are ready to share. 🙂

  4. Waving to you from across the river 🙂

  5. I hate thinning. And I hate the fact that you can see your lawn. There’s still 3 feet of snow on mine. 😦

Leave a Reply

