I Smell Diapers and Desperation

Man, what sleep-deprived new mom could pass up an opportunity like this one gleaned from Craigslist?

Freelance Blogger on Babies & Parenting (Work from Home)

Perfect job for a new mom.

* Location: Work from Home
* Compensation: $2 per daily 100 word post with bonus for measurable results
* Telecommuting is ok.
* This is a part-time job.
* Principals only. Recruiters, please don’t contact this job poster.
* Please, no phone calls about this job!
* Please do not contact job poster about other services, products or commercial interests.

TWO whole dollars? Hot damn! It’s 1983 again, and I just spent the cash I earned for half an hour of babysitting on a fluorescent green bottle of Wet & Wild nail polish and a snack-sized bag of Cool Ranch Doritos.

The lucky new mom who lands this gig could almost support a tall latte per day habit.

7 responses to “I Smell Diapers and Desperation

  1. OMG! I loved my neon Wet n’ Wild nail polish, almost as much as I loved my color coordinating neon socks. Thanks for the blast into the past.

  2. If they would double the rate, you might be able to splurge on a new pair of jellies too, Mim. 🙂

    This kind of crap just infuriates me. Craigslist is full of “perfect for new moms” gigs that pay less than a third world sweatshop.

  3. Gah. I won’t even make 100 word sponsored posts for $5. They seriously need to step it up!

  4. Please please please contact them, pretend you’re interested, and find out what the site is? The world needs to know this.

  5. Please please tell me that is a typo. Maybe they meant $20? One can only hope…

  6. Wha..what? Two dollars?
    I could be rich in um, 3 million years.
    Gah!

  7. What’ s sad is I do it for free.

Leave a Reply

